If you’re looking for news and information about Chapter happenings, you’ve come to the right place! If your organization has news directly related to public relations efforts or intiatives, consider sending your next press release to the Thoroughbred Chapter PRSA. As a benefit to our members, we will post their PR-related press releases free of charge on our website.

To learn more, contact, and be sure to sign up for our email newsletter (“The Loop”) which includes monthly luncheon announcements and other important Chapter news (Click here to join our email list.)

Join Now

Posted by on Mar 18, 2017 in Chapter News, Member News, Slider Feature | 0 comments

Have you been thinking about joining PRSA?  Well, now is a great time to do it! From March 1 through 31, new PRSA members will receive a FREE one-year Chapter membership (up to $100) when they join National as a regular member ($255 annual dues + $65 initiation fee).

PRSA National will reimburse Chapters for your local dues.

The Promotion Code is SPRING17.


This promotion is not valid for current members, renewing members or associate members.

Click here for details.

This is the only Free Chapter Promotion offered until the Triple Play later this fall.

2017 Awards Program Deadlines & Forms

Posted by on Jan 24, 2017 in Chapter News, Member News | 0 comments

The Thoroughbred Chapter began an annual awards program in 2002 to honor the outstanding efforts of its members. The award program recognizes exceptional work in many various categories such as media relations, newsletters, magazines, annual reports, brochures, websites, social media, etc.

There are three major award classifications…

  • The public relations Thoroughbred professional awards… for individuals, companies, agencies and non-profits.
  • The Communicator of the Year award… presented to a person who is not a public relations professional who did a great job of communicating his or her passion in 2016.
  • The Lifetime Achievement award… presented to a member of the Thoroughbred chapter of PRSA who has a demonstrated commitment to excellence over a long period of time.  This award is not necessarily presented every year.

Here are the 2017 awards milestone dates.

  • Thoroughbred awards contest entry deadline…  Monday, March 6, 2017
  • Communicator of the Year and Lifetime Achievement nominations deadline… Monday, March 6, 2017
  • Annual Awards Luncheon…  Tuesday, April 11, at 11:30 a.m. at a location to be determined in the next couple of weeks.

Important Contest Information:

For questions regarding our awards program, email Cliff Feltham at

Here’s the list of recent past Communicator of the Year recipients…

  • 2016 -  Marian Guinn, CEO of God’s Pantry Food Bank
  • 2015 -  Governor Steve Beshear
  • 2014 -  Ben and Rebecca Self of West Sixth and Foodchain
  • 2013   -  Dr. Doug Whitlock, President of Eastern Kentucky University
  • 2012   -  Matthew Mitchell, Coach of UK Women’s Basketball team
  • 2011   -  Stu Silberman, Superintendent of Fayette County Schools
  • 2010   -  Crit Luallen, Kentucky Auditor of Public Accounts
  • 2009   -  Kathy Gannoe, former executive Director of the Nursing Home Ombudsman agency
  • 2008 -  Dr. Pearce Lyons, Alltech
  • 2007 -  Nick Rowe, President, Kentucky American Water Company
  • 2006 -  Dr. George Zack, Music Director/Conductor, Lexington Philharmonic
  • 2005 -  Sylvia Lovely, executive director/CEO, Kentucky League of Cities
  • 2004 -  Joseph Lambert, Chief Justice, Kentucky Supreme Court
  • 2003 -  Jennifer Mynear, Jarrett’s Joy Cart
  • 2002 -  Dr. Lee Todd, President, University of Kentucky
  • 2001 -  John Lindgren (posthumously), Local TV News Anchor
  • 2000 -  Alan Stein, President, Lexington Legends

Our Lifetime Achievement Award (Hall of Fame) winners include:

  • Faith Miller Cole 2005
  • Thomas Preston, APR 2005
  • Phyllis Liebman, APR 2006
  • Phil Osborne 2009
  • Nancy Wiser, APR 2010
  • Tom Harris, APR 2016