Local PRSA Chapter Announces

Thoroughbred Award Winners

(LEXINGTON, KY) July , 2020 ---- The Thoroughbred Chapter of the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) announces the winners of its annual awards competition. The entries were in two main categories... Campaigns & Tactics. Each entry could be awarded either a Win (First), Place (Second) or Show (Third) designation.

Campaigns

Place	-	Nicholasville Stormwater	Community Champion category	
		Mackenzie Davis, Wiser Strategies & the City of Nicholasville		
Win	-	Big Family	Integrated Communications	
		KET staff & others - Todd Piccirilli, Abby Malik, John Dawahare, Rob Elliott, Reggie Beehner, Lauren Bennett, Ann Bransom, Patrick Brumback, Bullhorn Creative, Mollie Eblen, Grand Communications, Nancy Howard, Lisa Meek, Audra Miller, Robin Roenker, Steve Shaffer, Josh Sims, Micah Trvisonno and Missy Upton.		
Win	-	We See The Good Ahead, Brand Launch	Integrated Communications	
		Work + Play Studio, Ana Coomer, Principal & Bethany Langdon, New Vista		
Place	-	EKU Valentine's Day-Instagram Story	Social Media category	
Sarah Kelley, Jessica Holly, Tara Leisure, Matt Schumacher & Bra		macher & Brandon Moore, EKU		
Show	-	WoW Wheel Wednesday	Special Event category	
		Sara Jaggers, Kentucky Housing Corporation		
Win	-	Farmers National Bank 140 th Anniversary	Special Event category	
		Brant Welch & Sharon Howell, Farmers National Bank		
Place	-	Campus Buildings Portfolio	Student category	
		Carson Bryant, Jessica Holly, Tara Leisure, Ashley Reaves, Brandon Moore, Amanda Cain, EKU		
Place	-	EKU Weekly Events Highlight-Instagram Sto	ry Student Category	
		Sarah Kelley, Jessica Holly and Brandon Moore, EKU		

Win	-	Hazelwood.org	Website category
		Trifecta Media & Bethany Langdon, New Vista	

 Win
 Camp Horsin' Around
 Website category

 Mackenzie Davis, Wiser Strategies & Camp Horsin' Around and Brant Welch

Tactics

Place -	2019-2020 Highlights Piece	Brochure category	
	Mickey Thomas, Brandon Moore, Josh Kegley, Megan Sev	ier, Stephanie Waley, EKU	
Win -	EKU Aviation Program	Multimedia category	
	Duane Bolin, Leonard Nave, Brandie Conder, Matt Phelps	, EKU	
Place -	EKU Marching Colonel Hype video	Multimedia category	
	Kristi Middleton, Brandie Conder, Leonard Nave, Dwayne Brannock, Doug Cornett, EKU	Bolin, Matt Phelps, Lanny	
Place -	We See the Good Ahead-Video Series	Multimedia category	
	Work + Play Studio & Bethany Langdon, New Vista		
Show -	Success First Resources Guide	Special Purpose Publication	
	Jessica Holly, Brandon Moore, Ashley Reaves, Mickey Tho Martin, Gill Hunter, Bethany Warner, Heather Davis, EKU	don Moore, Ashley Reaves, Mickey Thomas, Lara Vance, Travis , Bethany Warner, Heather Davis, EKU	
Win -	New Vista 2019 Annual Report	Special Purpose Publication	

Trifecta Media & Bethany Langdon, New Vista

There were co-winners of the chapter's annual **Communicator of the Year Award.** The award goes to a person or group who does not work as a public relations professional, and who exemplifies excellent communications of their message to a variety of audiences. The recipients are:

The late **Anita Rowe-Franklin**, a nurse by profession and also an advocate for gun safety by speaking out for the protection of today's youth against gun violence. This came in the wake of the shooting death of her son, Antonio Franklin, Jr, an innocent bystander at an event in Duncan Park.

And,

Dr. Aaron Thompson, a passionate advocate for higher education serving currently as the Executive Vice President and Chief Academic Officer of the Council on Post-Secondary Education in Frankfort. He has served in a variety of education posts including interim president of Kentucky State University.

Also presented a **Lifetime Achievement Award** for at 20+ years of excellent public relations/communications work went to **Sue Patrick, APR, CPE**. She is currently serving as Chief Communications Officer at the Kentucky Council on Post-Secondary Education. Sue has demonstrated her unending dedication to the public relations profession, her skill at crafting effective and engaging messages, as well as her passion for those programs and professionals she leads.

###