The Thoroughbred Chapter began an annual awards program in 2002 to honor the outstanding efforts of its members. The award program recognizes exceptional work in many various categories such as media relations, newsletters, magazines, annual reports, brochures, websites, social media, etc.

***Be sure to check out the News section for the latest information regarding our Awards program!***


Award Types

  1. Thoroughbred Professional Awards (currently on hold) recognize excellence in public relations for individuals, companies, agencies, and non-profits.
  2. Communicator of the Year is presented to a person who is not a public relations professional who did a great job of communicating his or her passion in the award year.
  3. Lifetime Achievement Award is presented to a member of the Thoroughbred Chapter of PRSA who has a demonstrated commitment to excellence over a long period of time.  This award is not necessarily presented every year

Nomination Deadline Date: May 1, 2023 at 5 p.m. ET

Materials must be submitted electronically on or before May 1, 2023 at 5 p.m.
Email Nominations to:  Katie Porter at

Communicator of the Year Recipients

2020 – Anita Rowe Franklin (Posthumously) and Dr. Aaron Thompson
2019 – Mayor Jim Gray
2018 – Ginny Ramsey, Catholic Action Center
2017 – Lexington Fire Department & Bluegrass Stockyards
2016 – Marian Guinn, CEO of God’s Pantry Food Bank
2015 – Governor Steve Beshear
2014 – Ben and Rebecca Self of West Sixth and Foodchain
2013 – Dr. Doug Whitlock, President of Eastern Kentucky University
2012 – Matthew Mitchell, Coach of UK Women’s Basketball team
2011 – Stu Silberman, Superintendent of Fayette County Schools
2010 – Crit Luallen, Kentucky Auditor of Public Accounts
2009 – Kathy Gannoe, former executive Director of the Nursing Home Ombudsman agency
2008 – Dr. Pearce Lyons, Alltech
2007 – Nick Rowe, President, Kentucky American Water Company
2006 – Dr. George Zack, Music Director/Conductor, Lexington Philharmonic
2005 – Sylvia Lovely, executive director/CEO, Kentucky League of Cities
2004 – Joseph Lambert, Chief Justice, Kentucky Supreme Court
2003 – Jennifer Mynear, Jarrett’s Joy Cart
2002 – Dr. Lee Todd, President, University of Kentucky
2001 – John Lindgren (posthumously), Local TV News Anchor
2000 – Alan Stein, President, Lexington Legends

Lifetime Achievement Award Winners

2020 – Sue Patrick, APR, CPE
2018 – Cliff Feltham
2017 – Mary Hemlepp
2016 – Tom Harris, APR
2010 – Nancy Wiser, APR
2009 – Phil Osborne
2006 – Phyllis Liebman, APR
2005 – Thomas Preston, APR
2005 – Faith Miller Cole