The Thoroughbred Chapter began an annual awards program in 2002 to honor the outstanding efforts of its members. The award program recognizes exceptional work in many various categories such as media relations, newsletters, magazines, annual reports, brochures, websites, social media, etc.
There are three major award classifications…

  • The public relations Thoroughbred professional awards… for individuals, companies, agencies and non-profits.
  • The Communicator of the Year award… presented to a person who is not a public relations professional who did a great job of communicating his or her passion in 2016.
  • The Lifetime Achievement award… presented to a member of the Thoroughbred chapter of PRSA who has a demonstrated commitment to excellence over a long period of time.  This award is not necessarily presented every year.

Here are the 2017 awards milestone dates.

  • Thoroughbred awards contest entry deadline…  Monday, March 6, 2017
  • Communicator of the Year and Lifetime Achievement nominations deadline… Monday, March 6, 2017
  • Annual Awards Luncheon…  Tuesday, April 11, at 11:30 a.m. at a location to be determined in the next couple of weeks.

Important Contest Information:

For questions regarding our awards program, email Cliff Feltham at

Here’s the list of recent past Communicator of the Year recipients…

  • 2016 –  Marian Guinn, CEO of God’s Pantry Food Bank
  • 2015 –  Governor Steve Beshear
  • 2014 –  Ben and Rebecca Self of West Sixth and Foodchain
  • 2013   –  Dr. Doug Whitlock, President of Eastern Kentucky University
  • 2012   –  Matthew Mitchell, Coach of UK Women’s Basketball team
  • 2011   –  Stu Silberman, Superintendent of Fayette County Schools
  • 2010   –  Crit Luallen, Kentucky Auditor of Public Accounts
  • 2009   –  Kathy Gannoe, former executive Director of the Nursing Home Ombudsman agency
  • 2008 –  Dr. Pearce Lyons, Alltech
  • 2007 –  Nick Rowe, President, Kentucky American Water Company
  • 2006 –  Dr. George Zack, Music Director/Conductor, Lexington Philharmonic
  • 2005 –  Sylvia Lovely, executive director/CEO, Kentucky League of Cities
  • 2004 –  Joseph Lambert, Chief Justice, Kentucky Supreme Court
  • 2003 –  Jennifer Mynear, Jarrett’s Joy Cart
  • 2002 –  Dr. Lee Todd, President, University of Kentucky
  • 2001 –  John Lindgren (posthumously), Local TV News Anchor
  • 2000 –  Alan Stein, President, Lexington Legends

Our Lifetime Achievement Award (Hall of Fame) winners include:

  • Faith Miller Cole 2005
  • Thomas Preston, APR 2005
  • Phyllis Liebman, APR 2006
  • Phil Osborne 2009
  • Nancy Wiser, APR 2010
  • Tom Harris, APR 2016